The Argus Quartet


“The Angels” - Ben Phelps  (premiere)
     ft. Mike Zonshine on trumpet
"scratch cradle" - Thomas Kotcheff (premiere)
"Peculiar Strokes" - Andrew Norman (premiere)
About this Concert:
The premieres by Ben and Andrew are similar in their form and vividness.  Ben’s quartet “The Angels” is inspired by life in Los Angeles, and by the bizarre combination of trumpet and string quartet. It is stylistically diverse. Philip Glass, Bach, Film Noir, and Mariachi are all incorporated. The classical canon is quoted liberally. Many questions arise, answers are fleeting.
Andrew’s “Peculiar Strokes” is a collection of miniature movements that explore the unusual sounds that can be made with different types of bow strokes.  An ongoing project for Andrew, he has been adding to this witty and amusing project over the years.  His ever-increasing musical imagination is matched by his growing prominence – he has had commissions from the Los Angeles Philharmonic and New York Philharmonic, among many others.
A new work by the composer Thomas Kotcheff will round out the program.  Thomas has received a number of recent prizes, such as the Presser Award and 2014 Hermitage Award from the Aspen Music Festival.  This commission will represent the true spirit of collaboration through the quartet’s close work with Thomas.


Argus Quartet

Clara Kim, violin
Jason Issokson, violin
Diana Wade, viola
Joann Whang, cello


Artists: /