SAKURA & Mojave Trio: Common Ground

SAKURA Cello Quintet and Mojave Piano Trio team up for an exhilarating evening of lush sonorities and extreme virtuosity, including the music of Daniel Silliman, Daniel Allas, Thomas Kotcheff, Kajia Saariaho, and Nico Muhly.


Daniel Silliman - the wounded king
Daniel Allas - Heale
Thomas Kotcheff - Go in in in in & in
Kajia Saariaho - Light and Matter
Nico Muhly - Common Ground 

"Brilliant...superb" -Mark Swed, LA Times

A unique and versatile cello quintet, hailed as “brilliant” and “superb” by Mark Swed in the Los Angeles Times, SAKURA is built on the artistry and virtuosity of its members: Michael Kaufman, Benjamin Lash, Gabriel Martins, Yoshika Masuda,and Peter Myers. Drawing from the rich heritage of a repertoire that spans eight centuries, eclectic and unexpected programs are constructed around conceptual threads, with an overarching commitment to opening new vistas of beauty and expression by showcasing the great warmth and scope offered by the sound of five cellos.

Last season's highlights included the West Coast premiere of Olli Mustonen's Triptych for three cellos and a performance of Brett Dean's Twelve Angry Men in Walt Disney Concert Hall as part of the Piatigorsky International Cello Festival. They were awarded a $5,000 grant from Tarisio to commission five composers (Daniel Allas, Brett Banducci, Derek David, Thomas Kotcheff, and Daniel Silliman) to write quintets to be premiered in 2017. This season, SAKURA performs in Sedona, Cleveland, St. Louis, and Los Angeles and is Young Ensemble in Residence of the Da Camera Society.
The quintet operates as a true chamber ensemble, rehearsing extensively and distilling its interpretations through time, and is named in honor of the great mentor and artist Ralph Kirshbaum, with whom all five members studied: 桜 sakura (Japanese) and Kirschbaum (German) have the same meaning (cherry tree).

The Mojave Trio – dedicated to presenting a wide variety of classical music from the standard repertoire of the 18th-19th centuries to new works of our time – will offer a dynamic program of music by Schumann, Shostakovich and others. The ensemble has performed on the "Sundays Live" radio broadcast from Bing Theater at the LA County Museum of Art, and more. Members of the trio are: Sara Parkins, violin; Maggie Parkins, cello; and Genevieve Feiwen Lee, piano.

Artists: /