The ever-adventurous and virtuosic ensemble gnarwhallaby performs at Tuesdays at Monk Space with a program of new works, each written specifically for them and their unique sonic profile. World premieres include "Three Poems" by Olga Rayeva (2016 Villa Aurora composer-in-residence) and a set of variations by UCSD-alum Daniel Tacke, inspired by the Morton Feldman miniature "Half a minute, it's all I've time for." Filling out the program are two very recent quartet commissions: one by local favorite Élise Roy, and the other by the world-renowned Richard Barrett, an epic homage to four great American composer-performers: Cecil Taylor, Thelonious Monk, Eric Dolphy, and Miles Davis. The concert will conclude with "Lullaby 4" by Nick Deyoe, a work written for Gnarwhallaby in 2013.

“startlingly versatile” – New York Times

“gnarwhallaby delivers remarkable precision, energy and passion along with a studied and controlled sensitivity to the music of American and European contemporary composers...a monument to tight ensemble” – Sequenza 21

“precise, integrated, and beautiful” – New Classic LA

“satisfyingly musical, intelligently presented, ear twistingly enterprising” – Soundproof Room


Richard BARRETT | tkiva [2016-17]
Olga RAYEVA | Three Poems [2017] premiere
Daniel TACKE | ...ohne thema [2018] premiere
 - intermission -
Élise ROY | homeostasis [2017]
Nicholas DEYOE | Lullaby 4 [2013]

Funded by Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe